Madiba

A very sad day for South Africa today and I just thought I would share an extract of one of the many communications I received. It resonates well with my understanding of Mandela’s life and legacy.

Mandela_3_0

The legacy of Madiba

Nelson Mandela spent the majority of his life fighting for the liberation of South Africa. He strived for a democratic country, a free society and for equal opportunities for all. At the end of the famous Rivonia trial, he said “During my lifetime I have dedicated myself to this struggle of the African people. I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for and to achieve. But if it needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.”

Madiba sacrificed himself and his family to ensure that South Africa is liberated and so that all of us as South Africans could enjoy the freedom that we hold so dear today – the freedom that was once a dream for millions but is a reality today. He is the father of our democratic state, he is the foundation and pillar of our country and in many ways he represents the future of our country. 

We are proud of the fact that he became an international icon and was revered throughout the world. He was the symbol of justice all over the world. He taught the world what forgiveness is, he made us believe that change is possible and that we can all live together side-by-side.

His greatest legacy is that of peace and the liberalisation of the people of South Africa. Madiba we are truly indebted to you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

