Kommetje and High Constantia hike

Sunday, morning surf on the Atlantic side at Kommetje. Discovered this spot last May, it has a very nice wave – long right / left beach break and is usually offshore (good) when Muizenber is onshore (bad). When the swell direction is good, you can surf one wave from line up to the shore, enjoying a nice long ride. Only drawback, the water is absolutely freezing. It is about 5 degrees cooler than Muizenberg, so about 10 degrees. Sunday is the first time I surf back there since May and I knew what to expect. From the car park, I see small waves with a clean offshore wind. No question, I decide to go in.

I get all geared up (wetsuit and booties, the usual) and go in. Man, I knew it was going to be cold but this is seriously painful. As soon as I start paddling my hands are burning from the cold. Comes a set of waves but I am not at the line up so first duck dive – oohhhhhh it so f** cold !!! – but I am ok. Second wave, second duck dive and as soon as I come behind the wave I can start feeling it : the head freeze !! You know when you eat too much ice cream and your head hurts ? Well it is the same except you didn’t have any ice cream and it last bit longer. All you wish at that moment is that there was not a 3rd wave which forces you to duck dive again – making it even worse.

Luckily, waves are small so no need to panic or worry too much. Finally reach the line up, my hands are numb already and I am getting used to the cold – well sort of. The scenery is spectacular so I enjoy clean small waves, sun and mountains surrounding me. Very wild and pretty – worth the head freezes. Β After 1h30, time to get out of the water, too cold and tired. Takes 20min to take everything off, can hardly use my fingers enough to remove booties and wetsuit but got some good waves so happy πŸ™‚

Unfortunately no pictures of this session, will get some next time.

In the afternoon and after a revigorating lunch, we decide to go on a short walk. Close to home, you start from Constantia vineyards and go up the mountain. Turns out our map doesnt indicate all trails but as long as we go up we cant be too wrong. The path is well prepared, sometimes quite steep but nothing too hard. Nice part is to go through the different layers of vegetation: vineyards, finbos trees, bushes and flowers and the n rocks to get to the top. Overall it takes us 1hr to get to the top, very windy but a new view of Capetown. Best thing is we only came across 1 family in 3 hours outside πŸ™‚

Enjoy the pics from the walk

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kommetje and High Constantia hike

  1. sav says:

    Nice pictures guys!

    Was the water colder than sanary the last day we were there πŸ˜‰

  2. lol, yes a lot colder – more like Brittany in Winter I would say but at least it is warmer outside πŸ˜‰

  3. nicolas says:

    Amazing πŸ™‚ Je reconnais tes chaussures de trek πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

